[WEBINAR] HMO UPDATE: CLINICAL EVIDENCE AND CLINICAL PRACTICE

In this webinar, John T Stutts, MD, MPH, will define human milk oligosaccharides (HMOs); discuss potential direct and indirect HMO effects in infants; and summarize the current and new evidence for the role of HMOs in clinical practice. 

DATE: Thursday, 6 May 

TIME:  

  • 8-9 AM ET 

  • 1-2 PM BST 

  • 4-5 PM GST 

  • 5:30-6:30 IST 


FREE continuing education: 1.0 RN CE; 1.0 RD CPEU 

REGISTER
A newborn baby being fed.

[WEBINAR] CONSIDERATIONS FOR HMO USE IN THE PRETERM INFANT

In this webinar, Karyn Wulf, MD, David Hill, PhD, and Bridget Barret Reis, PhD, RD, will review immune system development in term and preterm infants; discuss the composition of human milk from mothers of term and preterm infants; and describe the role of 2'-FL HMO in supporting immune system development. 

DATE: Tuesday, 11 May 

TIME:  

  • 8-9 AM ET 

  • 1-2 PM BST 

  • 4-5 PM GST 

  • 5:30-6:30 PM IST 


FREE continuing education: 1.0 RN CE; 1.0 RD CPEU 

REGISTER
A newborn baby having its hand held.

[WEBINAR] NEONATAL FUNDAMENTALS: DISCHARGE AND FOLLOW-UP

In this webinar, Sharon Groh-Wargo, PhD, RDN, will review growth and potential nutrient deficits; discuss human milk and infant formula options for nutritional support at discharge; describe issues related to feeding progression in the high-risk newborn.  

Notes:  

  • This webinar will be pre-recorded, and Dr Groh-Wargo will dial in for a live Q&A session at the end of the presentation.  

  • The content is also on ANHI.org as a self-study program.  

DATE: Tuesday, 18 May 

TIME:  

  • 8-9 AM ET 

  • 1-2 PM BST 

  • 4-5 PM GST 

  • 5:30-6:30 PM IST 


FREE continuing education: 1.0 RN CE; 1.0 RD CPEU

REGISTER
A baby's foot being held.

GLIM: GLOBAL LEADERSHIP INITIATIVE ON MALNUTRITION: A CONSENSUS REPORT FROM THE GLOBAL CLINICAL NUTRITION COMMUNITY

In this webinar, Leah Gramlich, MD, FRCP, will explain the definition, prevalence and impact of malnutrition in adult patients; review expert group recommendations/consensus/guidelines on malnutrition diagnosis, including the new GLIM consensus; and summarize next steps for the GLIM consensus and how clinicians can utilize the consensus within their practice. 

DATE: Thursday, 20 May 

TIME:

  • 9-10 AM ET

  • 2-3 PM BST

  • 5-6 PM GST

  • 6:30-7:30 PM IST


FREE continuing education: 1.0 RN CE; 1.0 RD CPEU 

REGISTER
Female doctor wearing a mask while talking to woman during a home visit.

[WEBINAR] NUTRITION IN WOUND CARE: ESSENTIAL ASPECTS TO IMPROVE PATIENT OUTCOMES

In this webinar, Liz Anderson, RN, BA (Hons) PGCert Nutrition in Nursing, will describe the impact of poor nutrition on wound healing; discuss the importance of early detection of poor nutrition on wound healing; and identify strategies to improve nutrition in the patient with a wound. 

DATE: Thursday, 20 May 

TIME:  

  • 6 PM BST 

  • 7 PM CET 

  • 1 PM ET 



FREE continuing education: 1.0 RN CE; 1.0 RD CPEU 

REGISTER 
A nurse bandaging a wound on a patient’s foot.

PRACTICES TO INCREASE EXCLUSIVE BREASTFEEDING: CORE CONCEPTS COURSE

In this course, co-created by the International Lactation Consultant Association, and INJOY Birth and Parenting Education, you’ll learn to use effective communication techniques with breastfeeding women and families; understand why the first hours after birth are considered a sensitive period for the initiation of breastfeeding; describe signs of an effective latch; review strategies to safely handle and store expressed milk; and more. 

This course consists of an introductory module and four accompanying educational modules. All modules must be completed to obtain credit.

FREE continuing education: 1.5 RN CE; 1.5 RD CPEU 

ENROLL
A baby being breastfed.

NUTRITION IN EARLY ADOLESCENCE: GUIDANCE FOR CLINICAL PRACTICE

In this course, Virginia Stallings, MD, will discuss the importance of adolescent nutrition in clinical practice; review the physiological changes with pubertal development and its impact on nutrient needs; and identify nutrients of concern to support adolescent health. Originally presented as a live webinar on February 25, 2021. 

FREE continuing education: 1.0 RN CE; 1.0 RD CPEU 

ENROLL
A group of smiling teenagers.

MALNUTRITION AND POLYMORBIDITY

In this course, Filomena Gomes, PhD, and Beth Besecker, MD, MBA, will define polymorbidity and its prevalence; discuss the consequences of polymorbidity; review guidelines for nutritional support of polymorbid patients; and identify malnutrition as a modifiable risk factor for poor outcomes in polymorbid patients. Originally presented as a live webinar on 27 January 2021. 

FREE continuing education: 1.0 RN CE; 1.0 RD CPEU

ENROLL
 An older patient having their hand held.

 
NICU CURRENTS: NEONATAL ABSTINENCE SYNDROME: AN ESCALATING PROBLEM FOR NEWBORNS, FAMILIES, AND HEALTHCARE PROVIDERS

In this article, Gail Bagwell, DNP, APRN, CNS, will identify signs and symptoms of neonatal abstinence syndrome (NAS); review nonpharmacologic and pharmacologic intervention strategies for the newborn with NAS; and discuss the role of the nurse and dietitian in the care of an infant with NAS. 

FREE continuing education: 1.0 RN CE; 1.0 RD CPEU 

ENROLL
A baby in an incubator and a medical professional.

AN ALLERGY MODULATING HUMAN MILK OLIGOSACCHARIDE: 2'-FUCOSYLLACTOSE

In this course, Barbara Marriage, PhD, RD, and Paul Forsythe, PhD, will review clinical studies supporting the immune benefits of 2'-fucosyllactose human milk oligosaccharide (2'-FL HMO); discuss preclinical evidence of 2'-FL HMO effects on food allergy and potential mechanisms of action; and describe the possible role of 2'-FL HMO in enhancing oral tolerance. Originally presented as a live webinar on 3 June 2020. 

FREE continuing education: 1.0 RN CE; 1.0 RD CPEU 

ENROLL
A baby with a bottle
CPE Accredited Badge
Abbott Nutrition’s Provider Statement for Nursing CEs:

Abbott Nutrition Health Institute is an approved provider of continuing nursing education by the California Board of Registered Nursing Provider #CEP 11213.

Abbott Nutrition’s Provider Statement for Dietitian CPEUs:

Abbott Nutrition Health Institute (RO002), is a Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Accredited Provider with the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR). Registered dietitians (RDs) and dietetic technicians, registered (DTRs) will receive continuing professional education units (CPEUs) for completion of this program/materials. Continuing Professional Education Provider Accreditation does not constitute endorsement by CDR of a provider, program, or materials.

In addition to completing an online evaluation, participants of our programs can provide feedback directly to CDR.